How to turn off sharing

By default, there are a series of Social Media Sharing icons that appear on your site's interior pages (i.e., all pages except the homepage). The Facebook, Twitter, Google Plus and other Social Media Sharing icons allow visitors to easily click and share that particular page on their own social media platforms.

Want to know more about this feature before disabling it?

We've posted some examples of what this feature looks like on different social media platforms.

How to turn off Social Media Sharing icons

Here's how to change the default setting and remove the Social Media Sharing icons from your site's pages:

1

Access your site's social settings

Click on Admin in the blue Admin Toolbar > Settings > Social.

2

Set Social Media Sharing - AddThis to Off

Locate Social Media Sharing - AddThis in the Social Settings dialog and toggle the setting to Off.

3

Save/Publish your changes

Don't forget to click the green Save/Publish button at the bottom of the Social Settings dialog.

What does this feature really do?

The Social Media Sharing feature provides your visitors with a quick and easy way to share your site's content on their own social platforms. Here are two examples:

1

Social Media Sharing: Twitter

When a visitor clicks the Twitter Social Media Sharing icon, here's what happens:

  1. A new window appears (pictured above)
  2. The visitor is automatically connected to their Twitter account
    • They may first be prompted to enter their Twitter username and password to log in to their Twitter account
  3. The Page Title and Page URL are automatically populated in a tweet. The visitor can then edit and post the tweet to their account.
2

Social Media Sharing: Facebook

When a visitor clicks the Facebook Social Media Sharing icon, here's what happens:

  1. A new window appears (pictured above)
  2. The visitor is automatically connected to their Facebook account
    • They may first be prompted to enter their Facebook username and password to log in to their Facebook account
  3. The Page Title, Facebook Description and Page URL are automatically added to a Facebook post. The visitor can then add a comment to the shared URL, then post to Facebook.
PRO TIP: You can customize the way your shared URLs appear on Facebook. See How to customize shared Facebook posts.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us